top of page

Welcoming Schools

Welcoming Schools

Berwyn South School District 100 is committed to fostering an inclusive environment for all students, families and staff regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression.  To that end, we pledge to continually review our policies, procedures, curriculum and teaching practices to ensure a safe, affirming and healthy school environment where every child can learn and all families feel welcome.


District Equity & Advocacy Resources (DEAR) Committee Members:

Administrator: Allison Boutet

LaVergne: Justin Gonzalez & Ramona Towner

Emerson Elementary School - Luz Macias

Hiawatha Elementary School - Katelyn McCloskey 

Irving Elementary School - Jonelle Cook

Komensky Elementary School - Vivian Bisonaya 

Pershing Elementary School - Lara Gusel or Carolyn Nilles

Piper Elementary School - Amanda Drenth

Freedom Middle School - Megan Bushell

Heritage Middle School - Clair Pohanka or Paul Vincent





Illinois Safe Schools Alliance

Lurie Children's Hospital Gender Development Services

Welcoming Schools

bottom of page